Formed in 1997, the Australian Nuclear Free Alliance (formerly the Alliance Against Uranium) brings together Aboriginal people and relevant NGO’s concerned about existing or proposed nuclear developments in Australia, particularly on Aboriginal homelands.

The Alliance provides a forum for sharing of knowledge, skills and experience. It is an opportunity to come together and find strength through our shared aims to protect country and culture from nuclear developments. The Alliance helped to build the successful campaign to stop the Jabiluka uranium mine in the Northern Territory, and more recently, a proposed national nuclear waste dump in South Australia. Currently, Aboriginal communities face a wave of uranium exploration, several proposed new uranium mines, and a proposed national nuclear waste dump.
The 2013 meeting of the Australian Nuclear Free Alliance (ANFA) was held on the weekend of October 25-27 on the land of the Peramangk people in the Adelaide Hills.
Committee members 2013-14
Honorary Presidents
Kevin Buzzacott
Eileen Wingfield
Avon Hudson
Peter Watts (SA)
Kado Muir (WA)
Mitch (NT)
Dootch Kennedy (NSW)
Laura Hogam (ANU)
Isaac Parsons
Natalia Wasley (BNI)
Monique Wiseman
Morgan Stephens (Uranium Free NSW)
Barbara Shaw (Kaytetye/ Arrernte/Warlipiri)
Christopher Poulson (Warlpiri)
Donna Jackson (Larrakia)
June Mills (Larrakia)
Justin O’Brien, proxy Kirsten Blair (Gundjeihmi Aboriginal Corporation)
Kyle McMcGinn (MUA)
Valeria Martin (Warlpiri)
Adam Sharah (Friends of the Earth)
Mabel Quakawoot (Bailai)
Sue Haseldine (Kokatha Mula)
Rosie Lester (Yankunytjatjara)
Dave Sweeney (ACF)
Gem Romuld (ICAN)
Tully McIntyre (Friends of the Earth)
Jeanette McGrath (Wongutha)
Marcus Atkinson (ANAWA)
Mia Pepper (CCWA)



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: